Call for abstracts: Researching Southern Africa – A Postgraduate Workshop

Workshop date: 2 June 2014
Venue: Institute of Commonwealth Studies, School of Advanced Study, University of London
Abstract deadline: 28th March 2014

The Southern Africa Seminar Series of the University of London invites submissions for a postgraduate workshop on Researching Southern Africa. The one-day event will bring together doctoral students and scholars working in a range of disciplines and thematic interests relating to the region of Southern Africa.

The workshop will enable doctoral researchers to present their work in an informal and inclusive atmosphere and to gain valuable feedback from scholars based across the London Colleges who specialise in Southern Africa. Featuring a talk on publishing in academic journals by the Chair of the Journal of Southern African Studies, it will also be an opportunity to strengthen networks within London and to identify opportunities for future collaboration.

Applicants must be registered at a college in the University of London on a PhD programme. We will consider abstracts on any theme and subject area related to the region of Southern Africa, and welcome the submission of work in progress such as a chapter or a draft paper intended for publication.

Abstracts should be between 200 and 250 words, and include full contact details and affiliation. Workshop participants will be asked to submit a written version of their paper two weeks prior to the workshop for distribution to other participants, and to prepare a short presentation. The paper should be between 5,000 and 7,000 words.

The deadline for abstracts is 28th March 2014.

Please send abstracts or further queries to: Kai Easton (ke@soas.ac.uk); Elizabeth Hull (e.hull@soas.ac.uk) and Rebekah Lee (r.lee@gold.ac.uk). The event is sponsored by the Southern Africa Seminar Series (http://www.gold.ac.uk/southern-africa).

Convenors:

Professor Saul Dubow, School of History, Queen Mary. s.dubow@qmul.ac.uk
Dr Kai Easton, Department of the Languages and Cultures of Africa, SOAS. ke@soas.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Hull, Department of Anthropology and Sociology, SOAS. e.hull@soas.ac.uk
Dr Rebekah Lee, Department of History, Goldsmiths. r.lee@gold.ac.uk
Dr Debby Potts, Department of Geography, King’s College. debby.potts@kcl.ac.uk
Dr Hilary Sapire, Department of History, Classics and Archaeology, Birkbeck. h.sapire@bbk.ac.uk
Professor David Simon, Department of Geography, Royal Holloway. D.Simon@rhul.ac.uk
Dr Andrew van der Vlies, School of English and Drama, Queen Mary. a.vandervlies@qmul.ac.uk

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: